Late Hours of Faith and Alcohol

I was up until 3 am on October 9, 2010, trying to keep my sanity still from the booze that I’ve been drinking with my friends. In sessions like these, there is that usual sharing of anecdotes, problems and random stories from everyone. Thoughts that are rather delicate won’t usually come up in our discussion – not until that night anyway.

10:00pm. I came home from the movies with my other friends from school and found my gang occupying the floor and the sofa of the dorm. It’s Friday, which means this will be a night of care-free fun.  Final exams were done, subject requirements were passed and lectures from the gun-loaded voices of the professors will be shut since semester break was coming.

“Hey, he’s here!” my friends shouted, teasing me. They have been tormenting me for a night out since I wasn’t always around to bond with them the past few days . I didn’t have time to change my sweaty shirt so I just pulled it off me and joined them on the sofa. They were watching a crappy sci-fi movie about exploding suns and I argued to change it. I put on a Thai horror movie, “Shutter.”

11:30pm. I quenched my third glass of gin as I listened to my friend talk about how he was dumped by his girlfriend. He said that whenever alcohol crawl under his throat, he always remembers her face. My other friend, who is a pretty big douche, intruded and bragged about his women exploits and boasted on how he always gets the gals that he fancied. He turned to me and said “you my friend, you are as slow as an old turtle that’s why you have been single for a long time.” I told him I’m in no rush and I don’t think it’s time to commit right now. I added that he’s the least of all people I’m getting an advice from. He just winked and made a mocking sigh. The discussion about girls and relationships still went on for about an hour. The first bottle was finished. We waited for someone to get up and buy another one outside. I stayed glued on my seat.

1:30 am. We’re halfway on the second bottle when my friend, the douche, told us that we should just enjoy everything while we’re young ‘coz we don’t get to do that in the coming years.

“Is it wrong to be happy and just enjoy what life has dealt in my hands?”

“You know what, as long as someone is being badly affected by the happiness that you’re talking about then yes, it’s wrong.” I told him with a serious look.

“Oh come on, you’re still young. Don’t be an old man.”

I told him that age is never an excuse to go around and do what it is that you want to do without any caution. I added that we are always in the right age to do what is right. He just laughed at me and told all the guys that we are living in a world where sin is in every corner of the world and there is no such thing as perfectly good.

“I didn’t say that you should be perfect, all I’m saying is you should at least try to do well in this life. Wouldn’t you want to get a chance to go to heaven?”

I sounded like an over-the-top religious fanatic, but I didn’t really care if they laughed at me. There are only two kinds of things in the world; the good and the bad. All elements on earth fall under these two categories. It doesn’t matter whether you are pretty or ugly, rich or poor, dumb or intelligent. The real goodness comes from the character of the heart, but that alone isn’t enough. For me, what’s the use of being a “deep-down good” if you will not put it into application? It’s not enough that you don’t engage into conscience-challenging situations, you have to make a stand to prevent those kinds of things, bad things from happening. Yes, it sounds hyprocritical and but it would do you more good than harm if you actually try to be a better person. I remember a line from a movie written by that hilarious woman from “Saturday Night Live.”  “There are two kinds of evil people. People who do evil stuff, and people who see evil stuff being done and don’t try to stop it.” I believe I would become a failure if I’m going to let this night pass and not share these thoughts to my dear friends.

It was almost 3:00 am and I was questioned of my credibility to speak that way. They are like “look who’s talking, you sure blab like a saint, oh please you are not.” They were right. I’m neither the best person to voice out his opinions about God nor the person with the cleanest track record. I wasn’t trying to be a good role model to them since I know that I will be making a lot of mistakes in the future, but my intention in that very moment when I was talking was good. Not to give a biblical lecture, but to ask them to at least try to be a one-less sinner in the face of the earth. I might not be a religious person to send that kind of message, but does the type of person that I am make those words any less true? It doesn’t.

It was 3:00 o’clock in the morning and we decided to end the discussion since we’ve been talking about it for hours. I felt like thoughts have been shared enough already and little did we know that we’ve been making a lot of noise. My roommate went downstairs  and asked us to keep it down.  It has been a wonderful night, unusual, but I believe it’s one of those nights that will at least give some of us second thoughts to making a step closer to the right direction. I was supposed to be faced down lying in my bed 4 hours ago, but I guess those hours of consciousness made my sleep even more sound.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Late Hours of Faith and Alcohol

  1. Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my website so i
    got here to return the favor?.I am attempting to
    to find things to enhance my website!I guess its adequate to make use of some of your ideas!
    !

  2. blogspot.in says:

    Hi to all, it’s truly a nice for me to visit this web page, it contains helpful Information.

  3. Rapisura says:

    A number of four details with this page tend to be indisputably the best I’ve got.

Leave a Reply

