In Some Ways, A Cripple

The night is old and so is my appetite

I would blow a kiss only if we’re in our world

You might get mad but it’s okay

I’m a self-proclaimed coward

The trees they speak to me

I can hear them but they don’t make a sound

They echo and they are brave

I’m a self-proclaimed coward

My future has the legs of an infant

They stand but they fall

Once you and me and them can see eye to eye

I’d take my life and wish the world forever happiness

You are one of the many, I’m alone and content

Like the croaking frogs in the gutter

They make a loud sound which I’m scared of

I run away from little things

We held hands in a dead night

Might as well we cut our wrists

I am not meant for you

I will not live for you

I’m heroic as a deserter in a war

With a beautiful smile, without a functional gut

I’m all about facade, I have an infant’s leg

I’d take you to my downfall

I stand tall, but I’m broken on the hinges

I should chop my head off, but I’m a pansy

Too weak to stand for what is right

Too holy to stick my head out for the ax

You are one of the many, I’m alone and miserable, unadmittedly

Like the croaking frogs in the gutter

They make a loud sound that sounds courageous

I run away

I run away

I run away

Reynaldo D. Pagsolingan Jr., 2012

Leave a Reply

